Full time education is compulsory for all children from the age of five. The 12 year span of education consists of six years elementary education and six years of secondary education. Several private fee-paying schools operate in all towns, catering for the needs of foreign speaking pupils. Their basic teaching language is usually English and tuition is offered at reasonable fees.

The University of Cyprus as well as the other two public universities, the Technological University of Cyprus and the Open University of Cyprus offer a wide range of programmes of study at various level. In addition a number of private universities are also available.

For further information please contact the Ministry of Education and Culture.

Public Universities

University of Cyprus
Technological University of Cyprus
Open University of Cyprus

Private Universities

European University Cyprus
Frederick University Cyprus
University of Nicosia Cyprus